Author Topic: My first bot build! Crow T. Robot lives!  (Read 3456 times)

DefenderDarko

• View Profile
My first bot build! Crow T. Robot lives!
« on: December 31, 2015, 07:46:50 PM »
Hey guys, first post here. I've been lurking around for awhile...

I've been an obsessive MST3K fan since about 1994 and I always wanted a pair of the bots.
I'm actually a prop builder(mostly Ghostbusters stuff) and statue/figure maker guy, so I have plenty of tools and experience, just not with the bots. I've been 'studying' this forum for awhile to see what kind of mess I would be getting myself into if I tried to make the bots...

For Christmas, my awesome wife bought me the Bob kits from ebay. Best Christmas ever! Despite having the flu, I went to work on the 26th and had them finished three days later. LONG HOURS. Trial and Error, unfit painting conditions(ice storm here in Texas with flickering unreliable power).

I mostly followed the guides Bob supplied, but I added some of my own techniques(different paint types, adhesives, etc). Overall, he probably took about 15 hours of actual work time.

Here's my Crow!

Some notes...I did not use Testors "Metal Flake Gold". All of the big hobby stores in town did not have it and after inquiring, they told me that the paint color was no longer available. You guys should look into that. I instead used Testors Inca Gold. It's really close to the same color and under different lighting, it can range from that greenish gold tint to a warmer color. I really love how it turned out.