Author Topic: Bot Parts - What kind of demand is there?  (Read 2556 times)

Mitchell

• I just had a French Dip.
    • View Profile
Bot Parts - What kind of demand is there?
« on: April 07, 2011, 06:17:32 PM »
Howdy, folks! I'm relatively new to the bot building scene, but a long time MST3K fan and prop builder. The Bots are some props I've wanted to do for a very long time. I knew the basics as far as what they were built out of and I had looked into it building them in the past but parts weren't easy to find at the time(but to be honest, I didn't look terribly hard, either) and I gave up not long after.

I've recently been bitten by the bug again and have researched the hell out of the parts over the last several months. I've not found any kits outside of what pops up on ebay occasionally and I'm not really sure what private sellers offer(I don't frequent the bot builders group at the moment). This time around, though, I personally want to do as much as I can myself without the help of kit parts.

I currently have the following real parts on the way to me to make molds from:

-Money Lover Barrel
-Eveready Floating Lantern Shroud
-Tyco Train Car
-Schwartz Bros. Soap Dish

I'm also gearing up to scratch build the engine block for Tom's torso and have my own sculpts of Tom's hands in the works.

I guess what I'm getting at is is there still a demand for castings of these parts and others? Or is all the demand for the real deals? I'm molding and casting all of these parts for my own personal builds but I absolutely would not mind offering up additional castings to the community if it helps out. I'm not out to make a profit(though admittedly it would be nice to recoup some of my expenses in materials), I just figure if I'm molding up the parts anyway, might as well see if there's anyone that would be interested in copies. :)